Blog / Articles12 July 2018

All about Google Speed Update: what it will bring and how to prepare for it

Recently, Google launched its Speed ​​Update, which was announced back in January. Now mobile search ranking will consider loading speed of the mobile pages. Let's try to figure out what this update will affect.

Reasons and assumptions

As you know, mobile Internet has been developing rapidly in recent years. For example, the Internet traffic from mobile devices started to overtake desktop traffic for the first time in 2016. Google, always trying to keep up with the times, has prepared several "answers" to this development: Mobile-First Index, and active support for AMP and PWA technologies. The next stepinuser experience improvement for mobile device owners is Speed ​​Update.

Importance of loading speed of pages is confirmed by numerous researches in the Internet marketing field. In a study by Google, a delay of 0.5 seconds before ad loading resulted in a 25% decrease in the number of views. Amazon showed that every 0.1 seconds of loading delay cost them 1% of potential sales, and Walmart say that page acceleration by 1 sec leads to an increase in conversion by 2%.

The essence of the update

Page loading speed is used by Google as a ranking factor for a rather long time. However, it is important to clarify here: previously, only the loading time of the desktop pages was considered, regardless of the device that user came from - a computer or a phone. In other words, it was not important for Google how quickly your mobile site is loading: the main thing was to have a sufficiently optimized desktop version of the resource. Now, if your mobile pages are too slow, this will negatively affect their positions in search.

Details of the update’s work

Soon after the announcement of Speed ​​Update, Search Engine Land editors asked Google some questions that help to understand better, how the update will work. Here are the main answers.

  1. For ranking on PC, the loading speed of desktop pages will continue to be used. Nothing will change here. The launch of Mobile-First indexing, when the mobile index will become the main index for the site, also will not affect it. Google say that they want to create the best experience for all users, regardless of the device they use.
  2. The update will only affect a small percentage of queries (the company does not specify it), and only the slowest pages. In addition, we should remember that loading speed is only one of many ranking factors. If the page contains quality and relevant content, it can still be ranked high, despite its low speed.
  3. Speed ​​Update is a fully algorithmic filter. It means that Search Console will not give any alerts about the site hit by this algorithm, as well as no other tools can allow you to see it.
  4. The company does not disclose full information about which data is used by Speed ​​Update, but it is very likely that they include information from the Chrome User Experience Report. It is known that the data of this report is used in the PageSpeed ​​Insights tool, which Google recommends to use to check out the speed of pages. Therefore, perhaps, you should accelerate your site not only for the search robot, as the search engine has access to the data on the interaction of real users with your resource.
  5. If the site uses AMP technology, its mobile ranking will be affected by the loading speed of the AMP pages, because the user will see them.

During the regular Google Webmasters hangout, the Google employee John Mueller also told more detail about the work of the update. According to him, the new algorithm will not just look for the slowest pages and lower them in SERP, as it did with desktop versions earlier. It will work by the principle of scale, rather than defining extreme values. Therefore, even a slight increase in speed for a slow site can lead to an increase in its positions.

Mueller also made an important refinement later in his Twitter account, saying that the update will not affect fast sites: if the download speed of your pages is within reasonable limits, then their acceleration will not lead to an improvement of positions.

How to prepare your site for Speed ​​Update?

By the recommendations of Google, the best option is to use PageSpeed ​​Insights to check the loading speed of your pages, as well as to get detailed recommendations for improving it. Instructions from PageSpeed ​​Insights may be unclear to those who have never worked with sites, but for professionals it gives an excellent guide to action. By the way, this tool received an update at the beginning of this year: now it uses real-time data from Chrome User Experience Report about the interaction of users with sites.

Unfortunately, PageSpeed Insights tool shows data from Chrome User Experience Report not for all sites, but only for those whose data is in its databases. However, the information provided in standard PageSpeed Insights reports will be sufficient in most cases to optimize and speed up your site.

Google also recommends using data from Lighthouse tool, which is the part of Chrome DevTools. However, some third-party tools, such as GTmetrix, also proved to be good, and allow you to estimate the loading speed objectively.

When analyzing the time of your site’s loading, take into account such basic metrics as Time to First Byte (TTFB), draw time (DOMready) and the full loading time (onload). These values ​​are quite different, therefore, comparing the speed of different sites, consider what parameters were measured for them, in order not to confuse anything. By the way, as for TTFB, Google previously claimed that this metric is not a ranking factor.

Google does not give exact information about what loading speed is acceptable and where the "threshold" begins, after which the site will be lowered in SERP. However, even if your pages load quickly enough, but you have an opportunity to speed them up even more, then do not neglect it: as we already mentioned above, site’s performance is important not only for Google, but also for improving user experience and increasing conversion.

Nikolay Ashpin
SEO, blog editor
I have been engaged in copywriting since 2014, in SEO - since 2017. I am interested in Internet marketing modern trends and search engine optimization, as well as in the capabilities of the Google My Business tool, and I share the experience of using it at seminars and conferences. If you have a question about this article, please write to nikolay@arto.agency.

Be first to know about important!

How-to articles, news and reviews. We write to you when we really have something to say
COMMENTS
LEAVE A COMMENT
LOGIN
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
THIS SITE USES COOKIES
We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social networks features, and for functions of the commenting system on the site. The list of cookies to be set is located on this page. Do you agree to accept cookies?

Блог / Статьи12 июля 2018

Все о Google Speed Update: что оно принесет и как к нему готовиться

Недавно Google приступил к запуску обновления Speed Update, которое было анонсировано еще в январе. Теперь при ранжировании в мобильном поиске будет учитываться скорость загрузки именно мобильных страниц. Попробуем разобраться, на что повлияет это обновление.

Причины и предпосылки

Как известно, мобильный интернет в последние годы стремительно развивается. Так, интернет-трафик с мобильных устройств впервые начал «обгонять» десктопный еще в 2016 году. Google, стараясь всегда идти в ногу со временем, подготовил сразу несколько «ответов» на такое развитие событий: это и Mobile-First Index, и активная поддержка технологий AMP и PWA. Следующим шагом, призванным улучшить пользовательский опыт для владельцев мобильных устройств, становится Speed Update.

Важность скорости загрузки страниц подтверждается многочисленными исследованиями в области интернет-маркетинга. Так, в исследовании от Google задержка в 0,5 секунды перед загрузкой объявления привела к снижению числа показов на 25%. Amazon показали, что каждые 0,1 с задержки при загрузке стоили им 1% потенциальных продаж, а в Walmart утверждают, что ускорение страницы на 1 с приводит к росту конверсии на 2%.

Суть обновления

Скорость загрузки страницы используется Google как фактор ранжирования уже достаточно давно. Однако, здесь важно уточнить: ранее учитывалось только время загрузки десктопной страницы, независимо от того, с какого устройства пользователь выполняет поиск – с компьютера или телефона. Иначе говоря, для Google было совершенно не важно, насколько быстро загружается ваш мобильный сайт: главное было иметь достаточно оптимизированную десктопную версию ресурса. Теперь же, если ваши мобильные страницы слишком медленные, это негативно отразится на их позиции в поиске.

Нюансы работы обновления

Вскоре после анонса Speed Update редакция Search Engine Land задала представителям Google ряд вопросов, ответы на которые помогают лучше понять, как будет работать обновление. Приведем здесь основные из них.

  1. Для ранжирования на компьютерах будет по-прежнему использоваться скорость загрузки десктопных страниц. Здесь ничего не изменится. На это не повлияет и запуск Mobile-First индексации, когда мобильный индекс станет для сайта основным. В Google утверждают, что стремятся создавать наилучший опыт для всех пользователей, независимо от устройства, которым они пользуются.
  2. Обновление затронет лишь небольшой процент запросов (в компании не уточняют, какой именно), а также повлияет лишь на самые медленные страницы. Кроме того, следует помнить, что скорость загрузки – лишь один из многих факторов ранжирования. Если страница содержит качественный и релевантный контент, она может по-прежнему ранжироваться высоко, несмотря на низкую скорость.
  3. Speed Update является полностью алгоритмическим фильтром. Это означает, что оповещения в Search Console о попадании сайта под действие этого алгоритма не предусмотрены, как не существует и каких-либо других инструментов, которые позволили бы это увидеть.
  4. Компания не раскрывает полную информацию о том, какие именно данные использует Speed Update, однако весьма вероятно, что в их число входит информация из отчета Chrome User Experience. Известно, что данные этого отчета используются в инструменте PageSpeed Insights, который Google рекомендует использовать для проверки быстродействия страниц. Отсюда следует, что, возможно, ускорять сайт лишь для поискового робота будет недостаточно: ведь поисковая система располагает данными о взаимодействии реальных пользователей с ресурсом.
  5. Если сайт использует технологию AMP, то на мобильное ранжирование повлияет именно скорость загрузки AMP-страницы, поскольку именно ее увидит пользователь.

Во время очередной видео-встречи вебмастеров сотрудник Google Джон Мюллер также рассказал более подробно о работе обновления. По его словам, новый алгоритм будет не просто искать самые медленные страницы и понижать их в выдаче, как это происходило с десктопными версиями ранее. Он будет работать скорее по принципу шкалы, а не определения крайних значений. Следовательно, даже небольшое увеличение скорости для медленного сайта может привести к подъему в выдаче. Ответ Мюллера можно послушать на видео ниже.

Важное уточнение сделал Мюллер несколько позже в своем Twitter-аккаунте, сообщив, что на достаточно быстрые сайты обновление все равно никак не повлияет: если скорость загрузки ваших страниц находится в разумных пределах, то еще большее их ускорение не приведет к улучшению позиций.

Как подготовить свой сайт к выходу SpeedUpdate?

Следуя рекомендациям Google, оптимальным вариантом будет воспользоваться инструментом PageSpeed Insights, чтобы проверить скорость загрузки ваших страниц, а также получить подробные рекомендации по ее улучшению. Инструкции из PageSpeed Insights могут быть непонятны для тех, кто никогда не работал с сайтами, но для специалистов представляют отличное руководство к действию. Кстати, этот инструмент в начале года получил обновление: теперь он использует реал-тайм данные из Chrome User Experience Report о взаимодействии пользователей с сайтами.

К сожалению, PageSpeed Insights показывает данные из отчета Chrome User Experience не для всех сайтов, а только для тех, чьи данные есть в его базах. Тем не менее, информации, представленной в стандартных отчетах инструмента PageSpeed Insights, в большинстве случаев будет достаточно, чтобы оптимизировать свой сайт и ускорить его загрузку.

Также Google рекомендует использовать данные инструмента Lighthouse, встроенного в Chrome DevTools. Впрочем, хорошо себя зарекомендовали и некоторые инструменты сторонних разработчиков, которые позволяют достаточно объективно оценить скорость загрузки, например GTmetrix.

Анализируя время, за которое загружается ваш сайт, принимайте во внимание такие основные метрики, как время ответа сервера (Time to First Byte, TTFB), время отрисовки (DOMready) и период полной загрузки (onload). Их величины довольно существенно отличаются, поэтому, сравнивая скорость разных сайтов, учитывайте, какие именно параметры для них измерялись, чтобы ничего не напутать. Кстати, что касается TTFB, то в Google ранее утверждали, что конкретно эта метрика не является фактором ранжирования.

Google не дает точных сведений о том, какая скорость загрузки является приемлемой и где начинается «порог», после которого сайт может быть понижен в выдаче. Однако, даже если ваши страницы загружаются достаточно быстро, но у вас есть возможность ускорить их еще больше, то не стоит пренебрегать ею: как уже было упомянуто выше, быстродействие сайта важно не только для Google, но и для улучшения пользовательского опыта и повышения конверсии.

КОММЕНТАРИИ
КОММЕНТИРОВАТЬ
ВОЙТИ
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google
ЭТОТ САЙТ ИСПОЛЬЗУЕТ COOKIES
Мы используем cookies для анализа трафика, обеспечения функций социальных сетей и работы системы комментирования на сайте. Список устанавливаемых cookies находится на этой странице. Согласны ли вы на установку cookie?