Blog / Articles03 May 2018

What is PWA and how can they help the online business?

PWA (Progressive Web Application) is a web resource that combines the properties of a site and a mobile application. While maintaining the convenience of using traditional websites, they also acquire the autonomy of classic applications: with PWA you can work both online and offline.

How does the PWA work and what can it do?

When you get to the PWA site, it shows you the following message: "Would you like to add this site to your home screen?"

The installation of pwa

If you click "Yes", then:

  1. the site icon will be added to the home screen of your mobile device;
  2. it will be installed in the same way as a regular mobile application.

What will it give? First, now you have the ability to open a site in one click from the home screen of your device. It would seem nothing unusual, because you can add any site to the home screen for quick access using the browser. However, this is not all: unlike usual sites, after installing PWA you can interact with it even in offline mode, i.e. with no connection to the Internet. How? Do you remember that we installed it on our device? In addition, when you are online, PWA can synchronize data and update it in the device cache. This is as the news feed in the Facebook application works: when there is no connection, the information is extracted from the cache, and you see the content that was relevant at the last moment of Internet access. As soon as the connection appears, the application will download the most recent information from the server, and you will be able to see new posts and photos; it also updates the data in the cache.

In addition, PWA will work regardless of the browser after installation (it opens not in Chrome, Opera or Safari window, but in its own).

PWA can be uninstalled from the device in the same way as the regular application.

It's important to note: if you don’t want to install PWA on your device as an application, the site will still retain its functionality, but it will work only in the browser.

With all of the above, the PWA resource is still a site: you can get a link to any of its pages, send it with a messenger or share it in a social network; it is also indexed by search engines.

In order for you to understand better how PWA works and what can it do, we have prepared the example with the main functions of the technology. You can see it by the link below (the example doesn't work in the "incognito mode". When you go to the example page, our site will ask you for permission to receive push notifications – please, agree. This is only needed to show you the work of PWA. We will not send you any notifications in future).

Advantages of Progressive Web Apps

  • Ability to work without a browser. This function gives the user access to information in one click, which means increased involvement: the client can quickly visit the resource at any convenient moment.
  • Cross-platform. The standard mobile application works only on platforms for which it was developed (Android, iOS, Windows). At the same time, PWA is able to work on almost all hardware platforms, which reduces development costs: you don’t need to create a separate products for each operating system, it’s enough to develop one universal PWA.
  • Offline mode. Without an Internet connection, a user can view information and even send HTML forms. In this case, the data in the form is temporarily stored on the user’s device, and as soon as the connection appears it will be sent to the server. Imagine, for example, that you started filling out the order form, then went into the metro and the connection was interrupted. On a regular website, if you then click the submit button, your data will disappear; PWA will save all the information and send it as soon as possible without your participation (example of the offline form - in the top of the page).
  • Push notifications. Users will be able to receive convenient notifications about promotions, new articles and other events of your resource. You can receive these messages even without installing PWA (example of push notifications - in the bottom of the page).
  • Improved conversion. This is a consequence of the above points: when working with PWA, the probability of customer’s return to the site and the time he spends on the resource increases, the user experience improves, which helps to improve the conversion if it is a commercial site.
  • Indirect influence on SEO. Progressive mobile applications demonstrate good behavioral factors (users are actively navigating through pages, bounce rate is smaller), which can positively affect the search ranking. PWA only works with a secure protocol (HTTPS), and it has a positive effect on the site's position too.

Disadvantages of PWA technology

  • The first download of the PWA page can be a little slow, which is critical for a very weak Internet connection. This is because during the first visit there is no information about the site in the cache.
  • The total size of PWA is limited to certain requirements, depending on the user's browser: less than 6% of free space on the device for Chrome, 10% for Firefox, 50 MB for mobile Safari or 250 MB for Internet Explorer. Calculating the exact limit is rather difficult, since each user has a different memory load on the device. Therefore, when creating PWA, you have to minimize the size of all resources to reduce the risk of not fitting into the cache.
  • It's more difficult to integrate PWA technology into a ready-made site, since maximum content optimization is required.
  • If you are working with a PWA site through a browser, clearing the browser's cache will result in the permanent loss of data associated with the site. You will be unable to use the resource offline until the connection appears and the data in the cache restores.
  • Many functions of PWA sites cannot work properly in the incognito mode of the browser.

Who can use PWA?

Finally, one of the most important questions – for what format of online business will PWA technology be appropriate?

Online stores

PWA technology can be applied for large online stores, but it will be difficult to work with such a resource offline. It’s because a large store requires a lot of requests to the server when filtering or sorting a large number of goods by different attributes. Also it needs a lot of pictures of goods that may not fit in the local cache storage. Compressing these pictures too much is undesirable. The situation is better with shops that have a small catalog of goods: their range can be displayed on one page and filtered using JavaScript on the side of the browser/application.

Info-resources

For such types of sites as a blog, informational, corporate resource or service site, it will be easier to configure PWA. This is due not only to the fact that such sites usually have fewer images (compared to online stores), but also because they do not need to filter or sort content, and new pages appear relatively infrequently. This application’s work mechanism will be similar to the work of Facebook's feed, described above: the background synchronization mechanism will find and download new content when Internet connection appears.

Landing pages

Finally, implementing PWA for a landing page or business card site is most straightforward. The content of these resources is almost static, so they do not even need to set up background synchronization. The entire site will be cached on the device, and the user will be able to access it at any time.

Thus, in theory, PWA can be used for almost any site, but it will be appropriate not for everyone. The decision on the need to switch to PWA should be taken based on the site’s size, its focus, as well as the goals and objectives of the online business.

The implementation of PWA technology to an existing site

To implement PWA quickly on an existing site, it must meet the following requirements:

  • optimized weight of all pictures and photos on the pages;
  • minimized scripts, CSS-styles and HTML-files. It is very desirable to use scripts only in pure JavaScript, without using third-party libraries;
  • preparation of icons of different sizes for the home screen of various platforms (Android, iOS, Windows), which will run the application;
  • the most optimized size of the entire site (due to the limitations of memory on the device described above).

If your site does not meet these criteria, it does not mean that it cannot be moved to PWA technology – the implementation will just require more time and resources.

It should be noted that for sites on some popular engines (for example, on Wordpress) there are plug-ins for transferring an existing resource to PWA. However, it is important to clarify that even using plugins requires testing by specialists: the larger and more complex is the site, the more errors and problems can arise during its automated transfer. The same is about the EscalatingWeb resource, which offers a fully automatic "transformation" of the site into PWA. Judging by the feedback of users, it does not suit everyone and works correctly only with small sites with a little amount of dynamic content.

 

"Mobile apps, for 95% of companies and organizations who want to do well on the web, are the wrong decision. Not only that, most everyone now realizes and agrees on it. PWAs (and straightforward mobile websites) are there to pick up the slack." – Rand Fishkin.

 

Progressive Web App technology is one of the modern trends that can determine the future of the Internet and online businesses. For example, the founder of Moz Rand Fishkin noted it in his forecast for 2018. The most important features for modern web resources are user experience (UX) and cross-platform, and progressive web applications are excellent at managing these tasks. Not everything is perfect for today, because the technology is quite new, but it is constantly developing and expanding the functionality, opening up new opportunities for users.

And finally, if you need a PWA development or you would like to receive more detailed advice on this subject - please contact us! ARTO web agency will be glad to help you!

Denis Ulyanchenko
Front-end developer
COMMENTS
LEAVE A COMMENT
LOGIN
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
THIS SITE USES COOKIES
We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social networks features, and for functions of the commenting system on the site. The list of cookies to be set is located on this page. Do you agree to accept cookies?

Блог / Статьи03 мая 2018

Что такое PWA и как они могут помочь онлайн-бизнесу

PWA (Progressive Web Applications; Прогрессивные веб-приложения) – это веб-ресурсы, которые соединяют в себе свойства сайта и мобильного приложения. Сохраняя удобство использования традиционных веб-сайтов, они приобретают также автономность классических приложений: с PWA можно работать как в онлайн‑, так и в офлайн-режиме.

Как работает и что умеет PWA?

Когда вы попадаете на PWA-сайт, он показывает вам следующее сообщение: «Хотите добавить этот сайт на главный экран?»

Пример установки pwa на главный экран мобильного устройства

Если вы нажмете «Да», то:

  1. на экран мобильного устройства добавится иконка сайта;
  2. произойдет его установка по аналогии с тем, как происходит установка обычного мобильного приложения.

Что это даст? Во-первых, у вас теперь есть возможность открывать сайт в один клик с главного экрана устройства. Казалось бы, ничего необычного, ведь средствами браузера на главный экран для быстрого доступа можно добавить любой сайт. Но это не все: в отличие от обычных сайтов, после установки PWA вы сможете взаимодействовать с ним даже в офлайн-режиме, т.е. при полном отсутствии соединения с интернетом. Как? Мы же установили его к себе на устройство, помните? Кроме этого, когда вы онлайн, PWA может синхронизировать данные и обновлять их в кэше устройства. Подобным образом работает лента новостей в приложении Facebook: когда соединение отсутствует, информация извлекается из кэша, и вы видите контент, актуальный на последний момент выхода в интернет. Но как только появится соединение, приложение загрузит с сервера самую новую информацию, и вы сможете увидеть свежие заметки и фото; данные в кэше также обновятся.

Кроме этого, после установки PWA будет работать независимо от браузера (т.е. открываться не в окне Chrome, Opera или Safari, a в своем собственном).

Удаление (деинсталляция) PWA с устройства осуществляется таким же образом, как и обычных приложений.

Важно отметить: если вы не захотите устанавливать PWA на свое устройство как приложение, сайт все равно полностью сохранит свою функциональность, но будет работать только в браузере.

При всем вышеуказанном, PWA-ресурс – это все еще сайт: на любую из его страниц можно получить ссылку, переслать ее с помощью мессенджера или разместить в соцсети; он также индексируется поисковыми системами.

Для того чтобы вы смогли лучше понять, как работают PWA и что они умеют, мы подготовили для вас пример с основными функциями технологии. С ним можно ознакомиться, нажав на кнопку ниже (пример не работает в «режиме инкогнито»; когда зайдете на страницу примера, наш сайт запросит у вас разрешение на получение push-уведомлений - пожалуйста, согласитесь. Это нужно только для демонстрации работы PWA - мы не будем рассылать вам уведомления в дальнейшем).

Плюсы Progressive Web App

  • Возможность безбраузерной работы. Эта функция дает пользователю доступ к информации в один клик, а значит, увеличивается вовлеченность: клиент может быстро посетить ресурс в любой удобный момент.
  • Кроссплатформенность. Стандартное мобильное приложение работает только на тех платформах, для которых его разрабатывали (Android, IOS, Windows). В то же время, PWA способны работать почти на всех аппаратных платформах, что снижает стоимость разработки: не нужно создавать отдельный продукт для каждой операционной системы, достаточно разработать одно универсальное PWA-приложение.
  • Офлайн-режим. Без Интернет-соединения пользователь может просматривать информацию и даже отправлять HTML-формы. При этом, данные, которые ввел посетитель сайта в форму, временно сохраняются на устройстве, а как только появится связь с интернетом, они отправятся на сервер. Представьте, например, что вы начали заполнять форму заказа, а затем зашли в метро и соединение прервалось. На обычном сайте, если вы после этого нажмете кнопку отправки, ваши данные исчезнут; PWA при этом сохранит всю информацию и отправит ее при первой возможности уже без вашего участия (пример работы офлайн-формы - смотрите в самом начале страницы).
  • Push-уведомления. Пользователи смогут получать удобные уведомления об акциях, новых статьях и прочих событиях вашего ресурса. Отметим, что принимать эти сообщения можно даже без установки PWA (пример работы push-уведомлений - смотрите в самом низу страницы).
  • Улучшение конверсии. Это скорее следствие из вышеперечисленных пунктов: при работе с PWA увеличивается вероятность повторного захода клиента на сайт, время, которое он проводит на ресурсе, улучшается пользовательский опыт, что в перспективе помогает повысить конверсию, если речь идет о коммерческом сайте.
  • Косвенное влияние на SEO. Прогрессивные мобильные приложения демонстрируют хорошие поведенческие факторы (пользователи активно переходят по страницам, меньше показатель отказов), что может положительно сказаться на ранжировании в поиске. PWA работает только с защищенным протоколом (HTTPS), а это тоже положительно влияет на позиции сайта.

Недостатки технологии PWA

  • Первая загрузка PWA-страницы может быть немного медленной, что бывает критично при очень слабом Интернет-соединении. Связано это с тем, что на момент первого входа информация в кэше о ресурсе отсутствует.
  • Суммарный размер PWA ограничен определенными требованиями, зависящими от браузера пользователя: не более 6% свободного места на устройстве для Chrome, 10% – для Firefox, 50 МБ – для мобильной версии Safari или 250 МБ – для Internet Explorer. Просчитать точный лимит довольно трудно, так как у каждого пользователя степень загруженности памяти устройства может быть различной. Поэтому, создавая PWA, приходится максимально уменьшать размер всех ресурсов, чтобы минимизировать риск того, что какие-то из них не поместятся в кэш.
  • Технологию PWA сложнее внедрить на уже готовый сайт, так как требуется максимальная оптимизация контента.
  • Если вы работаете с PWA-сайтом через браузер, то очистка кэша браузера приведет к бесповоротной потере данных, связанных с сайтом, и отсутствию возможности посещать ресурс в офлайн-режиме до тех пор, пока не появится интернет и данные в кэше не перезапишутся.
  • Многие функции PWA-сайтов не могут нормально работать при включенном режиме «инкогнито» в браузере.

Кому подойдут PWA?

И наконец, один из важнейших вопросов – для какого формата онлайн-бизнеса технология PWA будет целесообразной?

Интернет-магазины

Для больших интернет-магазинов PWA-технология может быть применена, однако работать с таким ресурсом в офлайн-режиме будет затруднительно. Связано это с тем, что крупный магазин требует множества запросов на сервер при фильтрации или сортировке большого количества товаров по разным признакам. Кроме того, множество фотографий товаров, которые нежелательно слишком сильно сжимать, могут просто не поместиться в локальном кэш-хранилище. С магазинами, имеющими небольшой каталог товаров, дело обстоит лучше: их ассортимент можно выводить на одной странице и фильтровать с помощью JavaScript на стороне браузера/приложения.

Инфо-ресурсы

Для таких типов сайтов, как блог, информационный, корпоративный ресурс или сайт услуг, настроить работу PWA будет проще. Это связано не только с тем, что на этих ресурсах обычно меньше изображений (по сравнению с интернет-магазинами), но и с тем, что для них не нужно фильтровать или сортировать контент, а новые страницы появляются сравнительно редко. Принцип работы такого приложения будет похож на работу ленты Facebook, описанную выше: механизм фоновой синхронизации при появлении Интернет-соединения будет находить и загружать новый контент.

Landing Pages

Наконец, для landing page или сайта-визитки внедрить PWA наиболее просто: в связи с тем, что содержимое этих ресурсов практически неизменно, для них даже не нужно настраивать фоновую синхронизацию. Весь сайт будет кэшироваться на устройстве, и пользователь сможет обратиться к нему в любой момент.

Таким образом, в теории PWA можно использовать почти для любого сайта, однако не для всех это будет целесообразно. Решение о необходимости перехода на PWA нужно принимать исходя из размеров сайта, его направленности, а также целей и задач онлайн-бизнеса.

Внедрение технологии PWA на существующий сайт

Для быстрого внедрения PWA на уже готовый сайт он должен отвечать следующим требованиям:

  • оптимизированный вес всех картинок и фото на страницах;
  • минимизированный код скриптов, CSS-стилей и HTML-файлов. Очень желательно использовать скрипты только на чистом JavaScript, без применения сторонних библиотек;
  • наличие иконок разного размера для главного экрана различных платформ (Android, iOS, Windows), по которым будет осуществляться запуск приложения;
  • максимально оптимизированный размер всего сайта (в связи с ограничениями занимаемой памяти на устройстве, описанными выше).

Если ваш сайт не отвечает перечисленным критериям, то это, конечно, не значит, что перевести его на технологию PWA нельзя – просто внедрение потребует большего количества времени и ресурсов.

Стоит отметить, что для сайтов на некоторых популярных готовых движках (например, на Wordpress) существуют плагины переноса уже имеющегося ресурса на PWA. Однако, важно уточнить, что даже при использовании плагинов требуется проверка и тестирование специалистами: чем больше и сложнее сайт, тем больше ошибок и проблем может возникнуть при его автоматизированном переносе. То же самое можно сказать и о ресурсе EscalatingWeb, который предлагает полностью автоматическое «превращение» сайта в PWA. Судя по отзывам пользователей, он подходит далеко не всем и корректно работает только с небольшими сайтами с малым количеством динамического контента.

 

"Для 95% компаний и организаций, которые хотят преуспеть в интернете, мобильные приложения являются неправильным решением. Мало того, большинство сейчас это понимают и соглашаются с этим. В такой ситуации задачу приложений способны взять на себя PWA, а также несложные мобильные сайты." – Рэнд Фишкин.

 

Технология Progressive Web App является одной из современных тенденций, которые способны определить будущее интернета и онлайн-бизнеса. Это отметил, например, основатель компании Moz Рэнд Фишкин в своем прогнозе на 2018 год. Важнейшими показателями для современных веб-ресурсов являются удобство в использовании (UX) и кроссплатформенность, а прогрессивные веб-приложения отменно справляются с этими задачами. Да, не все еще идеально – ведь технология довольно новая, но она постоянно развивается и расширяет функционал, открывая новые возможности перед пользователями.

И напоследок отметим: если вы нуждаетесь в разработке PWA, или хотели бы получить более подробную консультацию по данному вопросу - пожалуйста, обращайтесь! Веб-агентство ARTO с радостью поможет вам в этом!

Денис Улянченко
Front-end developer
КОММЕНТАРИИ
КОММЕНТИРОВАТЬ
ВОЙТИ
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
ЭТОТ САЙТ ИСПОЛЬЗУЕТ COOKIES
Мы используем cookies для анализа трафика, обеспечения функций социальных сетей и работы системы комментирования на сайте. Список устанавливаемых cookies находится на этой странице. Согласны ли вы на установку cookie?