Blog / Research06 June 2018

Research results: more than 40% of Ukrainian online stores are not optimized for mobile devices

The widespread of smartphones, as well as Wi-Fi, 3G and 4G technologies in the modern world has brought users quick and convenient access to the Internet from almost anywhere in the world. Not surprisingly, this has led to a rapid increase of mobile traffic: foreign studies show that in 2017 it exceeded the traffic from desktop computers.

Customers are looking for a wide range of goods and services using their phones, which cannot but affect businesses: the mobile version of the site today is a must-have for almost every company.

Сanonicalized in April 2018 showed that at that time 24% of all sites in the world were not adapted for mobile devices. At Arto Web Agency, we conducted a similar study, focusing on the online stores: we checked the compatibility of the Ukrainian e-commerce segment with mobile devices.

Research methods

The first stage was to collect the semantic core, consisting of categorical requests that describe online stores of different orientation: for example, "online shoe store", "online air conditioning store", etc. After its cleaning, we received a list of 3599 requests. We collected the addresses of sites from the top-100 of Google search results (region – Ukraine) for each of these requests.

At the second stage, we have supplemented this list with sites from open online catalogues and price aggregators of Ukraine: hotline.ua, price.ua, catalog.online.ua, uashop.org, technoportal.ua, shop-list.com.ua, www.shoplist.com.ua, www.shop-on.com.ua.

Then we analyzed the resulting list and removed the following from it:

  • company pages on sites that are not online stores, for example, on social networks (Facebook, Instagram), on advertisement platforms (OLX), etc.;
  • sites in national domain zones that are not related to Ukraine (.ru, .su, .by, .kz).

The remaining array of URLs was analyzed by Screaming Frog SEO Spider application to extract a list of Title and Description meta tags for it.

Basing on the collected data we have formed 2 groups of sites. The first of them was the resources that contained the words "Internet" and "shop" in the meta tags of the main page. We automatically considered these resources as online stores. Important: at this stage, we also sifted out sites of companies offering development or promotion services that were randomly included in this group. They contained in meta-tags such phrases as "online store development".

The second group included sites that did not use the phrase "online store" in Title or Description, but could still be stores. They were checked manually. During this check, we excluded the following types of web resources:

  • landing and promo pages, business card sites;
  • informational sites, online media and blogs;
  • online catalogues without purchase functionality;
  • sites of manufacturing enterprises without online catalogues of goods and order functions;
  • service sites of various kinds (construction, transport, educational, etc.), not engaged in the sale of goods;
  • intermediary sites offering delivery of goods from foreign online stores to Ukraine;
  • online shops from Russia, Belarus and other countries.

As a result, the database consisting of 23490 unique domains of online stores was collected. We used these sites in our study.

To check sites for mobile-friendliness, we used a self-written script that sends requests to Google Search Console URL Testing Tools API, using its function that allows you to launch the Mobile-Friendly Test for the URL. Due to the fact that the API sometimes generated request processing errors, each URL was tested 10 times. The correct test results were obtained for 19458 addresses (82.8% of the total number of collected URLs).

Results

The results of the study revealed that:

  • 58.1% of the tested online stores (11308 sites) successfully passed the test and received the Mobile-Friendly status;
  • 41.9% of them (8150 sites) received the Not Mobile-Friendly status.


For Not Mobile-Friendly sites, API returned six optimization recommendations. They have shown the following distribution:

  • Tap targets too close – 7944 sites received this recommendation (97.47% of the total number of failed sites);
  • Use legible font sizes – 6109 sites (74.96%);
  • Configure the viewport – 5625 sites (69.02%);
  • Adjust the content size to Size content to viewport – 5232 sites (64.2%);
  • Fixed width viewport – 509 sites (6.25%);
  • Uses incompatible plugins – 311 sites (3.82%).

Each of the online stores with Not Mobile-Friendly status has received from 1 to 5 recommendations (but none received all 6 of them). The distribution of sites by the number of recommendations can be seen in the following diagram.


In addition to the results of the study, we analyzed the Title tags list of main pages received at the midpoint and collected the frequencies of all the words that met in this meta tag. You can see these data here in the form of text clouds.

Conclusions

Thus, quite a significant share of online stores in Ukraine is not yet prepared for the realities of the mobile Internet, while the number of mobile device users is steadily increasing. Liveinternet statistics show that the share of Android sessions in our country increased from 23.6 to 50% from the end of 2015 to this days. The active spread of 4G technology will only strengthen this trend in the future. Therefore, the owners of online stores should already think about adapting their sites for mobile devices.

Nikolay Ashpin
SEO, blog editor
I have been engaged in copywriting since 2014, in SEO - since 2017. I am interested in Internet marketing modern trends and search engine optimization, as well as in the capabilities of the Google My Business tool, and I share the experience of using it at seminars and conferences. If you have a question about this article, please write to nikolay@arto.agency.

Be first to know about important!

How-to articles, news and reviews. We write to you when we really have something to say
COMMENTS
LEAVE A COMMENT
LOGIN
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
THIS SITE USES COOKIES
We use cookies to analyze traffic, provide social networks features, and for functions of the commenting system on the site. The list of cookies to be set is located on this page. Do you agree to accept cookies?

Блог / Исследования06 июня 2018

Результаты исследования: более 40% украинских интернет-магазинов не оптимизированы для мобильных устройств

Повсеместное распространение смартфонов, а также технологий Wi-Fi, 3G и 4G в современном мире принесло пользователям быстрый и удобный доступ в интернет практически из любой точки. Неудивительно, что это привело к стремительному росту мобильного трафика: зарубежные исследования показывают, что еще 2017 году он превысил трафик с настольных компьютеров.

Клиенты ищут с телефонов самые различные товары и услуги, что не может не накладывать отпечаток на бизнес: мобильная версия сайта сегодня – это "must have" практически для каждой компании.

Сanonicalized в апреле 2018 года показали, что на тот момент 24% всех сайтов в мире не были адаптированы для мобильных устройств. Мы в Arto Web Agency провели похожее исследование, сфокусировавшись на интернет-магазинах: проверили, насколько совместим с мобильными устройствами отечественный e-commerce сегмент.

Методы исследования

Первым этапом стал сбор семантического ядра, состоящего из категориальных запросов, которые описывают интернет-магазины различной направленности: например, «интернет магазин обуви», «интернет магазин кондиционеров» и т.д. После очистки ядра мы получили список из 3599 запросов, по каждому из которых были собраны адреса сайтов из топ-100 поисковой выдачи Google (регион – Украина).

На втором этапе мы дополнили этот список сайтами из открытых онлайн-каталогов и прайс-агрегаторов Украины: hotline.ua, price.ua, catalog.online.ua, uashop.org, technoportal.ua, shop-list.com.ua, www.shoplist.com.ua, www.shop-on.com.ua.

Затем мы проанализировали получившийся список и удалили из него:

  • страницы компаний на сайтах, не являющихся интернет-магазинами, например, в соцсетях (Facebook, Instagram), на площадках размещения объявлений (OLX) и т.д.;
  • сайты в национальных доменных зонах, не относящиеся к Украине (.ru, .su, .by, .kz).

Оставшийся после такой очистки массив адресов анализировали средствами приложения Screaming Frog SEO Spider, чтобы извлечь для него список мета-тегов Title и Description.

На основе собранных данных мы сформировали 2 группы сайтов. Первую из них составили те ресурсы, которые содержали в мета-тегах главной страницы слова «интернет» (либо «інтернет») и «магазин». Эти ресурсы мы автоматически считали интернет-магазинами. Важно: на этой стадии также были отсеяны сайты компаний, предлагающих услуги по созданию или продвижению магазинов, которые попали в группу случайно и содержали в мета-тегах, например, словосочетание «разработка интернет-магазина».

Во вторую группу попали те сайты, которые не содержали в Title или Description явного упоминания фразы «интернет магазин», но по-прежнему могли являться магазинами. Они проверялись вручную. При этом мы отсеивали следующие типы веб-ресурсов:

  • сайты-визитки, лендинги, промо-страницы;
  • информационные сайты, СМИ и блоги;
  • онлайн-каталоги и онлайн-витрины без функционала покупки, принадлежащие офлайн-магазинам;
  • сайты производственных предприятий без онлайн-каталога товаров и функции заказа;
  • сайты услуг различного рода (строительных, транспортных, образовательных и т.д.), не занимающиеся продажей товаров;
  • сайты-посредники, предлагающие доставку товара из зарубежных интернет-магазинов в Украину;
  • интернет-магазины из России, Беларуси и других стран.

В итога была собрана база, состоящая из 23490 уникальных доменов интернет-магазинов. Эти сайты и были использованы в исследовании.

Для проверки на совместимость с мобильными устройствами мы использовали самописный скрипт, который посылает запросы к Google Search Console URL Testing Tools API, вызывая его функцию, позволяющую запускать Mobile-Friendly Test для URL-адреса. В связи с тем, что API при работе периодически выдавало ошибки обработки запроса, каждый URL тестировался 10 раз. Корректные результаты проверки удалось получить для 19458 адресов (82,8% от общего числа собранных).

Результаты

По итогам исследования было выяснено, что:

  • 58,1% проверенных интернет-магазинов (11308 сайтов) успешно прошли тест, получив статус Mobile-Friendly;
  • 41,9% из них (8150 сайтов) получили статус Not Mobile-Friendly.

Для сайтов со статусом Not Mobile-Friendly API возвращало 6 рекомендаций по оптимизации. Они продемонстрировали такое распределение:

  • Слишком близко расположенные целевые элементы для нажатия (Tap targets too close) – эту рекомендацию получили 7944 сайта (97,47% от общего числа не прошедших тест);
  • Используйте разборчивые размеры шрифта (Use legible font sizes) – 6109 сайтов (74,96%);
  • Настройте область просмотра (Configure viewport) – 5625 сайтов (69,02%);
  • Подстройте размер контента под область просмотра (Size content to viewport) – 5232 сайта (64,2%);
  • Область просмотра фиксированной ширины (Fixed width viewport) – 509 сайтов (6,25%);
  • Сайт использует несовместимые плагины (Uses incompatible plugins) – 311 сайтов (3,82%).

Каждый из интернет-магазинов, имеющих статус Not Mobile-Friendly, получил от 1 до 5 рекомендаций (все 6 не получил ни один из них). Распределение сайтов по числу рекомендаций можно увидеть на следующей диаграмме.

В качестве дополнения к результатам исследования мы проанализировали список Title главных страниц, полученный на промежуточном этапе, и собрали частоты всех слов, которые встретились в этом мета-теге. Мы представили эти данные в форме наглядных текстовых облаков, ознакомиться с которыми можно по ссылке.

Выводы

Таким образом, довольно существенная доля интернет-магазинов Украины пока что не подготовлена к реалиям мобильного интернета, в то время как число пользователей мобильных устройств неуклонно растет. Статистика Liveinternet показывает, что за период с конца 2015 года до сегодня доля Android-сеансов в нашей стране выросла с 23,6 до 50%. Активное распространение технологии 4G только усилит эту тенденцию в будущем. Следовательно, владельцам интернет-магазинов стоит уже сейчас задуматься об адаптации своих сайтов для мобильных устройств.

Николай Ашпин
SEO, редактор блога
Занимаюсь копирайтингом с 2014 года, SEO – с 2017. Интересуюсь современными тенденциями интернет-маркетинга и поисковой оптимизации, а также возможностями инструмента Google My Business, опытом использования которого делюсь на семинарах и конференциях. Если у вас есть вопрос по этой статье, пожалуйста, напишите на почту nikolay@arto.agency.

Узнавайте о важном первыми!

Учебные материалы, важные новости, обзоры. Мы пишем вам тогда, когда действительно есть что сказать
КОММЕНТАРИИ
КОММЕНТИРОВАТЬ
ВОЙТИ
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
ЭТОТ САЙТ ИСПОЛЬЗУЕТ COOKIES
Мы используем cookies для анализа трафика, обеспечения функций социальных сетей и работы системы комментирования на сайте. Список устанавливаемых cookies находится на этой странице. Согласны ли вы на установку cookie?